Texas Plumber License Requirements
Official classification: Tradesman / Journeyman / Master Plumber (TSBPE) · Issued by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE).
🔧 PlumberTX ✔ Verified 2026-06-19
In Texas, plumbers must hold the Tradesman / Journeyman / Master Plumber (TSBPE), issued by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE), and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed plumber in Texas
Follow these steps to earn your Tradesman / Journeyman / Master Plumber (TSBPE). Every figure is verified against the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. Tradesman: 4,000 hours + a 24-hour approved course (or DOL apprenticeship). Journeyman: 8,000 hours accrued while registered, plus a 48-hour TSBPE-approved course (or a DOL apprenticeship program). Master: hold a Journeyman license 2 years (1 year with an approved apprenticeship). Hours are documented via Employer Certification Forms — TSBPE does not track them for you.
- Pass the exam for the license class you are applying for. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: $300,000 minimum commercial general liability (all claims in a one-year period) for a Master Plumber acting as Responsible Master Plumber, with a certificate of insurance on file with TSBPE (Occupations Code 1301.3576, 1301.552); not required for the journeyman or tradesman license itself. Property damage: Covered by the same $300,000 Responsible Master Plumber policy, which must insure claims for property damage or bodily injury (Occupations Code 1301.552(2)). Workers' compensation: Per Texas employer rules; not a TSBPE license condition.
- Clear the background check. Fingerprint-based criminal history check at registration/licensure. Felony convictions require a Supplemental Criminal History form; reviewed case-by-case.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) — Apprentice registration $15; Tradesman $36 exam; Journeyman $40; Master $25 processing application fee, plus a Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 (certificate + pocket card) license fee. Processing time: Variable via TSBPE; exam scheduled through Pearson VUE after approval.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Annual. Continuing education: 6 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) per year for Master, Journeyman and Tradesman license holders and for endorsement holders.
For the general path in every state, see the Plumber guide →
Texas plumber license lookup
To confirm a plumber is properly licensed in Texas — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Plumber's Apprentice (registration) — Entry point; works only under the direct on-site supervision of a licensed plumber. Must be 16+. Hours worked before registering do not count toward higher tiers.
- Tradesman Plumber-Limited — Plumbing on one- and two-family dwellings under a Responsible Master Plumber. Requires 4,000 hours plus a 24-hour TSBPE-approved course (or DOL apprenticeship).
- Journeyman Plumber — Plumbing on any structure under a Responsible Master Plumber. Requires 8,000 hours of experience plus a 48-hour TSBPE-approved course (or a DOL apprenticeship program); the course is waived for holders of an out-of-state journeyman or master license.
- Master Plumber — Highest tier; performs and supervises plumbing. Requires holding a Journeyman license 2 years (1 year with an approved apprenticeship). The Responsible Master Plumber (RMP) designation is what lets a business pull permits.
- Endorsements — Water Supply Protection, Multipurpose Residential Fire Sprinkler, and Medical Gas Piping can be added to Journeyman/Master/Inspector licenses.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | Tradesman: 4,000 hours + a 24-hour approved course (or DOL apprenticeship). Journeyman: 8,000 hours accrued while registered, plus a 48-hour TSBPE-approved course (or a DOL apprenticeship program). Master: hold a Journeyman license 2 years (1 year with an approved apprenticeship). Hours are documented via Employer Certification Forms — TSBPE does not track them for you. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Apprentice registration $15; Tradesman $36 exam; Journeyman $40; Master $25 processing |
| License fee | Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 (certificate + pocket card) |
| Renewal fee | Annual — Apprentice $15; Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 |
| Renewal period | Annual |
| Continuing education | 6 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) per year for Master, Journeyman and Tradesman license holders and for endorsement holders. |
| Bond required | No statewide surety bond required by TSBPE (a city permit registration may require one). |
| Liability insurance | $300,000 minimum commercial general liability (all claims in a one-year period) for a Master Plumber acting as Responsible Master Plumber, with a certificate of insurance on file with TSBPE (Occupations Code 1301.3576, 1301.552); not required for the journeyman or tradesman license itself. |
| Property damage | Covered by the same $300,000 Responsible Master Plumber policy, which must insure claims for property damage or bodily injury (Occupations Code 1301.552(2)) |
| Workers' comp | Per Texas employer rules; not a TSBPE license condition. |
| Background check | Fingerprint-based criminal history check at registration/licensure. Felony convictions require a Supplemental Criminal History form; reviewed case-by-case. |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | Out-of-state Journeyman/Master licensees are exempt from the Tradesman 24-hour course; other out-of-state requests reviewed case-by-case (no blanket reciprocity). · compare all states |
| Processing time | Variable via TSBPE; exam scheduled through Pearson VUE after approval. |
What a Texas plumber license costs
| Application fee | Apprentice registration $15; Tradesman $36 exam; Journeyman $40; Master $25 processing. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 (certificate + pocket card). |
| Tradesman Plumber-Limited Exam | $36 exam fee. |
| Journeyman Plumber Exam | $40. |
| Master Plumber Exam | $128.50 (paid to Pearson VUE on exam day). |
| Surety bond | No statewide surety bond required by TSBPE (a city permit registration may require one). |
| Renewal fee | Annual — Apprentice $15; Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75. |
| Renewal period | Annual. |
Exams
| Tradesman Plumber-Limited Exam | Provider: Pearson VUE (for TSBPE) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by TSBPE · Fee: $36 exam fee |
|---|---|
| Journeyman Plumber Exam | Provider: Pearson VUE (for TSBPE) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by TSBPE · Fee: $40 |
| Master Plumber Exam | Provider: Pearson VUE (for TSBPE) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by TSBPE · Fee: $128.50 (paid to Pearson VUE on exam day) |
Renewing a Texas plumber license
The Tradesman / Journeyman / Master Plumber (TSBPE) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE). Finish the continuing-education requirement before you file — boards generally will not process a renewal without it. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Annual |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Annual — Apprentice $15; Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 |
| Continuing education | 6 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) per year for Master, Journeyman and Tradesman license holders and for endorsement holders. |
| Where to renew | Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners (TSBPE) |
Local / municipal notes
TSBPE licenses plumbers statewide, but cities still issue permits and may require the company's Responsible Master Plumber to register locally before pulling permits.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Texas plumber license cost?
Application: Apprentice registration $15; Tradesman $36 exam; Journeyman $40; Master $25 processing. License: Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75 (certificate + pocket card). Renewal: Annual — Apprentice $15; Tradesman $35; Journeyman $40; Master $75.
How do I look up a plumber license in Texas?
Search the official license database at vo.licensing.hpc.texas.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do plumbers in Texas need a surety bond?
No statewide surety bond required by TSBPE (a city permit registration may require one).
What experience is required for a Texas plumber license?
Tradesman: 4,000 hours + a 24-hour approved course (or DOL apprenticeship). Journeyman: 8,000 hours accrued while registered, plus a 48-hour TSBPE-approved course (or a DOL apprenticeship program). Master: hold a Journeyman license 2 years (1 year with an approved apprenticeship). Hours are documented via Employer Certification Forms — TSBPE does not track them for you.
Is insurance required for plumbers in Texas?
Liability: $300,000 minimum commercial general liability (all claims in a one-year period) for a Master Plumber acting as Responsible Master Plumber, with a certificate of insurance on file with TSBPE (Occupations Code 1301.3576, 1301.552); not required for the journeyman or tradesman license itself. Property damage: Covered by the same $300,000 Responsible Master Plumber policy, which must insure claims for property damage or bodily injury (Occupations Code 1301.552(2)). Workers' compensation: Per Texas employer rules; not a TSBPE license condition.
How long does it take to get a Texas plumber license?
Processing time: Variable via TSBPE; exam scheduled through Pearson VUE after approval.
Is a background check required for plumbers in Texas?
Background check: Fingerprint-based criminal history check at registration/licensure. Felony convictions require a Supplemental Criminal History form; reviewed case-by-case.
How often must a Texas plumber license be renewed?
Annual. Continuing education: 6 hours of Continuing Professional Education (CPE) per year for Master, Journeyman and Tradesman license holders and for endorsement holders.
Official sources
statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.1301.htm
tsbpe.texas.gov/license-types
tsbpe.texas.gov/license-types/tradesman
tsbpe.texas.gov/license-types/journeyman
tsbpe.texas.gov/license-types/master-plumber