California Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: C-10 Electrical Contractor · Issued by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB).
⚡ ElectricianCA ✔ Verified 2026-09-30
In California, electricians must hold the C-10 Electrical Contractor, issued by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB), and a $25,000 surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in California
Follow these steps to earn your C-10 Electrical Contractor. Every figure is verified against the Contractors State License Board (CSLB); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. 4 years of journeyman-level (or supervisor/foreperson) electrical experience within the last 10 years. Up to 3 years may be credited for an approved apprenticeship, technical training or education at an accredited school; at least 1 year must be practical experience.
- Pass the Law & Business and C-10 Electrical Trade exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. California requires $25,000 contractor bond (plus $25,000 Qualifying Individual bond if applicable).
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not state-mandated, but commonly required by clients. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees; exemption form filed if none.
- Clear the background check. Live Scan fingerprints; DOJ + FBI criminal background check. Convictions reviewed case-by-case for substantial relation to contractor duties.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Contractors State License Board (CSLB) — $450 (nonrefundable) application fee, plus a $200 (sole owner) / $350 (non-sole owner) license fee. Processing time: Variable; status checkable on CSLB site with fee number + PIN.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years.
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
California electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in California — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- C-10 Electrical Contractor — Statewide license to install, connect or repair electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances, raceways, conduits and solar photovoltaic cells that generate, transmit or use electrical energy (16 CCR 832.10).
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | 4 years of journeyman-level (or supervisor/foreperson) electrical experience within the last 10 years. Up to 3 years may be credited for an approved apprenticeship, technical training or education at an accredited school; at least 1 year must be practical experience. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $450 (nonrefundable) |
| License fee | $200 (sole owner) / $350 (non-sole owner) |
| Renewal fee | $470 (sole owner) / $720 (non-sole owner) — C-10 electrical renews higher than other CSLB classifications |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
| Continuing education | None required |
| Bond required | $25,000 contractor bond (plus $25,000 Qualifying Individual bond if applicable) |
| Liability insurance | Not state-mandated, but commonly required by clients |
| Property damage | — |
| Workers' comp | Required if you have employees; exemption form filed if none. |
| Background check | Live Scan fingerprints; DOJ + FBI criminal background check. Convictions reviewed case-by-case for substantial relation to contractor duties. |
| Credit requirement | None |
| Reciprocity | Arizona (C-11 Electrical; trade exam may be waived) · compare all states |
| Processing time | Variable; status checkable on CSLB site with fee number + PIN |
What a California electrician license costs
| Application fee | $450 (nonrefundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $200 (sole owner) / $350 (non-sole owner). |
| Law & Business | Included in application. |
| C-10 Electrical Trade | Included in application. |
| Surety bond | $25,000 contractor bond (plus $25,000 Qualifying Individual bond if applicable). A bond's premium is a percentage of the bond amount, set by the surety. |
| Renewal fee | $470 (sole owner) / $720 (non-sole owner) — C-10 electrical renews higher than other CSLB classifications. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years. |
Exams
| Law & Business | Provider: PSI (for CSLB) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by CSLB (candidates are notified at the test site) · Fee: Included in application |
|---|---|
| C-10 Electrical Trade | Provider: PSI (for CSLB) · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by CSLB (candidates are notified at the test site) · Fee: Included in application |
Renewing a California electrician license
The C-10 Electrical Contractor renews on a fixed cycle set by the Contractors State License Board (CSLB). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $470 (sole owner) / $720 (non-sole owner) — C-10 electrical renews higher than other CSLB classifications |
| Continuing education | None required |
| Where to renew | Contractors State License Board (CSLB) |
Local / municipal notes
The C-10 license is for the contracting business. Anyone who performs work as an electrician for a C-10 contractor must separately hold a state electrician certification from the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (Labor Code 108; dir.ca.gov/dlse/ECU).
Frequently asked questions
How much does a California electrician license cost?
Application: $450 (nonrefundable). License: $200 (sole owner) / $350 (non-sole owner). Renewal: $470 (sole owner) / $720 (non-sole owner) — C-10 electrical renews higher than other CSLB classifications.
How do I look up a electrician license in California?
Search the official license database at cslb.ca.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in California need a surety bond?
$25,000 contractor bond (plus $25,000 Qualifying Individual bond if applicable)
What experience is required for a California electrician license?
4 years of journeyman-level (or supervisor/foreperson) electrical experience within the last 10 years. Up to 3 years may be credited for an approved apprenticeship, technical training or education at an accredited school; at least 1 year must be practical experience.
Is insurance required for electricians in California?
Liability: Not state-mandated, but commonly required by clients. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees; exemption form filed if none.
How long does it take to get a California electrician license?
Processing time: Variable; status checkable on CSLB site with fee number + PIN.
Is a background check required for electricians in California?
Background check: Live Scan fingerprints; DOJ + FBI criminal background check. Convictions reviewed case-by-case for substantial relation to contractor duties.
How often must a California electrician license be renewed?
Every 2 years. Continuing education: None required.
Official sources
cslb.ca.gov/Resources/GuidesAndPublications/GetLicensedToBuild_ENG0525_ADA.pdf
dir.ca.gov/dlse/ECU/ElectricalTrade.html
cslb.ca.gov/about_us/library/licensing_classifications/Licensing_Classifications_Detail.aspx?Class=C10
cslb.ca.gov/about_us/library/fees.aspx
cslb.ca.gov/contractors/maintain_license/bond_information/bond_requirements.aspx
cslb.ca.gov/contractors/applicants/reciprocity/reciprocal_classifications_list.aspx
cslb.ca.gov/about_Us/faqs/fingerprint_q_and_a.aspx