Nevada Electrician License Requirements
Official classification: C-2 Electrical Contractor · Issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB).
⚡ ElectricianNV ✔ Verified 2026-06-19
In Nevada, electricians must hold the C-2 Electrical Contractor, issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), and a surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed electrician in Nevada
Follow these steps to earn your C-2 Electrical Contractor. Every figure is verified against the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
- Pass the C-2 Electrical trade exam and Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Nevada requires Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
- Clear the background check. Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
- Meet the credit / financial requirement. A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) — $300 (non-refundable) application fee, plus a $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) license fee. Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses).
For the general path in every state, see the Electrician guide →
Nevada electrician license lookup
To confirm an electrician is properly licensed in Nevada — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- C-2 Electrical — Specialty (Class C) license covering electrical work; subclassifications include C-2a Electrical Wiring, C-2c Fire Detection, C-2d Low Voltage, C-2e Lines to Transmit Electricity, C-2f Residential Wiring, and C-2g Photovoltaics.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable) |
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Bond required | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Liability insurance | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Property damage | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Workers' comp | Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted |
| Background check | Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application. |
| Credit requirement | A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required. |
| Reciprocity | Arizona; California; Connecticut; Florida; Louisiana; North Carolina; Tennessee; West Virginia · compare all states |
| Processing time | Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies. |
What a Nevada electrician license costs
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). |
| C-2 Electrical trade exam | Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI). |
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Approximately $95 (paid to PSI). |
| Surety bond | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit). |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). |
Exams
| C-2 Electrical trade exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI) |
|---|---|
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95 (paid to PSI) |
Renewing a Nevada electrician license
The C-2 Electrical Contractor renews on a fixed cycle set by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Where to renew | Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) |
Local / municipal notes
Licensure by endorsement covers only the trade exam and/or experience requirement; all other documentation is still required, and the applicant must have held an active license in the endorsing state with the same qualified individual for 4 years.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Nevada electrician license cost?
Application: $300 (non-refundable). License: $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). Renewal: $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit).
How do I look up a electrician license in Nevada?
Search the official license database at app.nvcontractorsboard.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do electricians in Nevada need a surety bond?
Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
What experience is required for a Nevada electrician license?
At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
Is insurance required for electricians in Nevada?
Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
How long does it take to get a Nevada electrician license?
Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
Is a background check required for electricians in Nevada?
Background check: Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Nevada electrician license?
Credit requirement: A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required.
How often must a Nevada electrician license be renewed?
Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). Continuing education: None required by NSCB.
Official sources
leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-requirements
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/bonds
nvcontractorsboard.com/resources/faq-central
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-classifications
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/licensure-by-endorsement