Virginia General Contractor License Requirements
Official classification: Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with a building classification: Residential Building (RBC), Commercial Building (CBC), or Building (BLD) · Issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors.
🏗️ General ContractorVA ✔ Verified 2026-09-21
In Virginia, general contractors must hold the Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with a building classification: Residential Building (RBC), Commercial Building (CBC), or Building (BLD), issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors, and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed general contractor in Virginia
Follow these steps to earn your Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with a building classification: Residential Building (RBC), Commercial Building (CBC), or Building (BLD). Every figure is verified against the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors; full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. The Qualified Individual for the building classification must have 1 year (Class C), 3 years (Class B), or 5 years (Class A) of experience in the classification and pass the trade/technical exam. No individual tradesman license exists for general building contracting.
- Pass the Building classification technical exam (RBC/CBC/BLD) and Business exams - Class B: General + Virginia; Class A: General + Virginia + Advanced (Designated Employee) exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Property damage: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Workers' compensation: Required under Virginia law if the business has 3 or more employees (including subcontractors' employees).
- Clear the background check. Disclosure of felony and recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions must provide a Virginia State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days. No routine fingerprinting.
- Meet the credit / financial requirement. Class A: $45,000 net worth/equity. Class B: $15,000. Class C: none. Class A/B applicants must disclose adverse financial history (bankruptcies, liens, judgments, defaults) within the past 5 (A) / 4 (B) years.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors — Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260. (CBC/CIC-only firms pay a reduced fee: Class A $400, Class B $380, Class C $235, with no Recovery Fund fee.) Since July 1, 2026 DPOR also adds a separate Technology Fee of $7.25 per year to certain fees, in place through June 30, 2030 (2026 House Bill 30) — check the current application form for whether it applies to your licence type. application fee, plus a Included in application fee above license fee. Processing time: Approximately 30 days for routine applications.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years.
For the general path in every state, see the General Contractor guide →
Virginia general contractor license lookup
To confirm a general contractor is properly licensed in Virginia — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Class C — Single project under $30,000; up to $250,000 total work per 12 months; no net-worth requirement
- Class B — Single project under $150,000; up to $1 million total per 12 months; net worth $15,000
- Class A — No monetary limit on project or annual value; net worth $45,000
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | The Qualified Individual for the building classification must have 1 year (Class C), 3 years (Class B), or 5 years (Class A) of experience in the classification and pass the trade/technical exam. No individual tradesman license exists for general building contracting. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260. (CBC/CIC-only firms pay a reduced fee: Class A $400, Class B $380, Class C $235, with no Recovery Fund fee.) Since July 1, 2026 DPOR also adds a separate Technology Fee of $7.25 per year to certain fees, in place through June 30, 2030 (2026 House Bill 30) — check the current application form for whether it applies to your licence type. |
| License fee | Included in application fee above |
| Renewal fee | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
| Continuing education | None required for the contractor license. |
| Bond required | No surety bond required. Class A firms must document $45,000 net worth/equity and Class B $15,000; a surety bond on the Board's Surety Bond Form may be submitted as an alternative way to prove financial responsibility. Class C has no net-worth requirement. |
| Liability insurance | Not state-mandated by DPOR |
| Property damage | Not state-mandated by DPOR |
| Workers' comp | Required under Virginia law if the business has 3 or more employees (including subcontractors' employees) |
| Background check | Disclosure of felony and recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions must provide a Virginia State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days. No routine fingerprinting. |
| Credit requirement | Class A: $45,000 net worth/equity. Class B: $15,000. Class C: none. Class A/B applicants must disclose adverse financial history (bankruptcies, liens, judgments, defaults) within the past 5 (A) / 4 (B) years. |
| Reciprocity | None - Virginia does not offer general reciprocity for the contractor (business) license; out-of-state firms must apply and meet Virginia requirements, though existing credentials may be reviewed for experience · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | Approximately 30 days for routine applications |
What a Virginia general contractor license costs
| Application fee | Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260. (CBC/CIC-only firms pay a reduced fee: Class A $400, Class B $380, Class C $235, with no Recovery Fund fee.) Since July 1, 2026 DPOR also adds a separate Technology Fee of $7.25 per year to certain fees, in place through June 30, 2030 (2026 House Bill 30) — check the current application form for whether it applies to your licence type. |
|---|---|
| License fee | Included in application fee above. |
| Building classification technical exam (RBC/CBC/BLD) | Paid to PSI. |
| Business exams - Class B: General + Virginia; Class A: General + Virginia + Advanced (Designated Employee) | Paid to PSI. |
| Surety bond | No surety bond required. Class A firms must document $45,000 net worth/equity and Class B $15,000; a surety bond on the Board's Surety Bond Form may be submitted as an alternative way to prove financial responsibility. Class C has no net-worth requirement. |
| Renewal fee | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years. |
Exams
| Building classification technical exam (RBC/CBC/BLD) | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed · Fee: Paid to PSI |
|---|---|
| Business exams - Class B: General + Virginia; Class A: General + Virginia + Advanced (Designated Employee) | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed · Fee: Paid to PSI |
Renewing a Virginia general contractor license
The Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with a building classification: Residential Building (RBC), Commercial Building (CBC), or Building (BLD) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030. |
| Continuing education | None required for the contractor license. |
| Where to renew | Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors |
Local / municipal notes
All applicants (every class) must complete a Board-approved pre-license education course (commonly the 8-hour basic course). Contractor license required for any single job over $1,000; firms must also comply with local (city/county) licensing where work is performed.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Virginia general contractor license cost?
Application: Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260. (CBC/CIC-only firms pay a reduced fee: Class A $400, Class B $380, Class C $235, with no Recovery Fund fee.) Since July 1, 2026 DPOR also adds a separate Technology Fee of $7.25 per year to certain fees, in place through June 30, 2030 (2026 House Bill 30) — check the current application form for whether it applies to your licence type. License: Included in application fee above. Renewal: Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030.
How do I look up a general contractor license in Virginia?
Search the official license database at dpor.virginia.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do general contractors in Virginia need a surety bond?
No surety bond required. Class A firms must document $45,000 net worth/equity and Class B $15,000; a surety bond on the Board's Surety Bond Form may be submitted as an alternative way to prove financial responsibility. Class C has no net-worth requirement.
What experience is required for a Virginia general contractor license?
The Qualified Individual for the building classification must have 1 year (Class C), 3 years (Class B), or 5 years (Class A) of experience in the classification and pass the trade/technical exam. No individual tradesman license exists for general building contracting.
Is insurance required for general contractors in Virginia?
Liability: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Property damage: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Workers' compensation: Required under Virginia law if the business has 3 or more employees (including subcontractors' employees).
How long does it take to get a Virginia general contractor license?
Processing time: Approximately 30 days for routine applications.
Is a background check required for general contractors in Virginia?
Background check: Disclosure of felony and recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions must provide a Virginia State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days. No routine fingerprinting.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Virginia general contractor license?
Credit requirement: Class A: $45,000 net worth/equity. Class B: $15,000. Class C: none. Class A/B applicants must disclose adverse financial history (bankruptcies, liens, judgments, defaults) within the past 5 (A) / 4 (B) years.
How often must a Virginia general contractor license be renewed?
Every 2 years. Continuing education: None required for the contractor license.
Official sources
dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/boards/Contractors/A501-27LIC.pdf
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section140
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section110
workcomp.virginia.gov/contractor-information