Virginia Roofing License Requirements
Official classification: Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Roofing (ROC) specialty designation · Issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors.
🏠 RooferVA ✔ Verified 2026-09-21
In Virginia, roofers must hold the Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Roofing (ROC) specialty designation, issued by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors, and no state surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed roofer in Virginia
Virginia issues one contractor license with class tiers (A, B, C) and a Roofing (ROC) specialty designation layered on top. The steps below follow the Board for Contractors' published application process.
- Choose your class based on project size: Class C for jobs under $30,000 (up to $250,000 of work per year), Class B for jobs under $150,000 (up to $1 million per year), or Class A for unlimited project value.
- Complete the Board-approved pre-license education course, commonly 8 hours, required for every class.
- Name your Qualified Individual for the ROC specialty and have them pass the roofing technical exam through PSI. Class B adds the General and Virginia Business exams; Class A adds General, Virginia, and Advanced (Designated Employee) exams.
- Document your Qualified Individual's roofing experience on the Board's Contractor Experience Verification Form: 1 year for Class C, 3 years for Class B, or 5 years for Class A.
- For Class A or B, show financial responsibility: either a financial statement proving net worth ($45,000 for Class A, $15,000 for Class B) or a surety bond filed on the Board's Surety Bond Form instead. Class C has no financial requirement.
- If you're forming an LLC or corporation, register it with the Virginia State Corporation Commission.
- Line up workers' compensation coverage if your business will have 3 or more employees, including subcontractors' employees.
- Submit the Contractor Firm License application to DPOR with your experience form, financial documentation or bond, and the class-based fee: $260 (Class C), $405 (Class B), or $425 (Class A).
- Disclose any felony or recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions attach a State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days.
- Allow about 30 days for routine DPOR processing, then renew every 2 years.
Virginia roofer license lookup
To confirm a roofer is properly licensed in Virginia — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- Class C contractor (ROC) — Single project under $30,000; up to $250,000 total work per 12 months; no net-worth requirement
- Class B contractor (ROC) — Single project under $150,000; up to $1 million total per 12 months; net worth $15,000
- Class A contractor (ROC) — No monetary limit; net worth $45,000
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | The Qualified Individual for the Roofing (ROC) specialty must have 1 year (Class C), 3 years (Class B), or 5 years (Class A) of roofing experience and pass the roofing technical exam. There is no separate individual tradesman license for roofers in Virginia. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260. Since July 1, 2026 DPOR also adds a separate Technology Fee of $7.25 per year to certain fees, in place through June 30, 2030 (2026 House Bill 30) — check the current application form for whether it applies to your licence type. |
| License fee | Included in application fee above |
| Renewal fee | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030. |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
| Continuing education | None required for the contractor license. |
| Bond required | No surety bond required. Class A firms must document $45,000 net worth/equity and Class B $15,000; a surety bond on the Board's Surety Bond Form may be submitted as an alternative proof of financial responsibility. Class C has no net-worth requirement. |
| Liability insurance | Not state-mandated by DPOR |
| Property damage | Not state-mandated by DPOR |
| Workers' comp | Required under Virginia law if the business has 3 or more employees (including subcontractors' employees) |
| Background check | Disclosure of felony and recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions must provide a Virginia State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days. No routine fingerprinting. |
| Credit requirement | Class A: $45,000 net worth/equity. Class B: $15,000. Class C: none. Class A/B must disclose adverse financial history within the past 5 (A) / 4 (B) years. |
| Reciprocity | None - the Roofing specialty requires passing the Virginia technical exam; Virginia does not offer general reciprocity for the contractor (business) license · other states' agreements |
| Processing time | Approximately 30 days for routine applications |
Exams
| Roofing (ROC) technical exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed · Fee: Paid to PSI |
|---|---|
| Business exams - Class B: General + Virginia; Class A: General + Virginia + Advanced (Designated Employee) | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed · Fee: Paid to PSI |
Renewing a Virginia roofer license
The Contractor License (Class A/B/C) with Roofing (ROC) specialty designation renews on a fixed cycle set by the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors. Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus $30 Recovery Fund assessment. A separate DPOR Technology Fee of $7.25 per year applies to certain fees from July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2030. |
| Continuing education | None required for the contractor license. |
| Where to renew | Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Board for Contractors |
Local / municipal notes
All applicants (every class) must complete a Board-approved pre-license education course. Contractor license required for any single roofing job over $1,000; firms must also comply with local (city/county) licensing where work is performed.
Upfront costs, itemized
A Virginia roofing license involves fees to DPOR, a separate exam vendor, and, for Class A/B applicants, either a bank statement or a bonding company. No state agency sets a liability insurance minimum for this license.
| Cost | Paid to | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Application/license fee | DPOR, Board for Contractors | Class A $425, Class B $405, Class C $260 |
| Renewal fee (every 2 years) | DPOR, Board for Contractors | Class A $270, Class B $260, Class C $220, plus a $30 Recovery Fund assessment |
| Exam fees | PSI | Not publicly disclosed by DPOR |
| Surety bond (Class A/B only, in lieu of net worth) | A surety/bonding company | Coverage amount: $45,000 (Class A) or $15,000 (Class B). You pay a premium, a fraction of that figure, not the full amount; DPOR does not publish premium rates and they vary by credit. |
| General liability insurance | An insurance carrier | Not mandated by DPOR for this license (carry it anyway; most general contractors and clients require proof of coverage) |
| Workers' compensation | An insurance carrier | Required coverage, not a set cost, if you have 3 or more employees |
Frequently asked questions
How do I look up a roofer license in Virginia?
Search the official license database at dpor.virginia.gov. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do roofers in Virginia need a surety bond?
No surety bond required. Class A firms must document $45,000 net worth/equity and Class B $15,000; a surety bond on the Board's Surety Bond Form may be submitted as an alternative proof of financial responsibility. Class C has no net-worth requirement.
What experience is required for a Virginia roofer license?
The Qualified Individual for the Roofing (ROC) specialty must have 1 year (Class C), 3 years (Class B), or 5 years (Class A) of roofing experience and pass the roofing technical exam. There is no separate individual tradesman license for roofers in Virginia.
Is insurance required for roofers in Virginia?
Liability: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Property damage: Not state-mandated by DPOR. Workers' compensation: Required under Virginia law if the business has 3 or more employees (including subcontractors' employees).
Is a background check required for roofers in Virginia?
Background check: Disclosure of felony and recent non-marijuana misdemeanor convictions; Virginia residents with convictions must provide a Virginia State Police criminal history record dated within 90 days. No routine fingerprinting.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Virginia roofer license?
Credit requirement: Class A: $45,000 net worth/equity. Class B: $15,000. Class C: none. Class A/B must disclose adverse financial history within the past 5 (A) / 4 (B) years.
How often must a Virginia roofer license be renewed?
Every 2 years. Continuing education: None required for the contractor license.
How do I get a roofing license in Virginia?
Virginia doesn't issue a separate roofer's license; you get a Contractor License in Class A, B, or C with a Roofing (ROC) specialty designation from DPOR. Your Qualified Individual completes pre-license education, documents roofing experience, and passes the PSI roofing exam (plus business exams for Class A/B), then you submit the class-based application fee and any required financial documentation.
How much does it cost to get a roofing contractor license in Virginia?
DPOR's application fee is $260 for Class C, $405 for Class B, or $425 for Class A, which includes the license itself. On top of that you'll pay PSI exam fees, which DPOR doesn't publish, and, for Class A or B, either proof of net worth or a surety bond premium if you choose that route instead.
How long does it take to get a Virginia roofing contractor license?
DPOR estimates roughly 30 days for routine application processing once everything is submitted. Budget extra time before that to complete the pre-license education course and schedule and pass the PSI exams.
Do roofers need a bond in Virginia?
Not automatically. Virginia's roofing (ROC) license doesn't require a bond outright; Class A and B applicants must show net worth of $45,000 or $15,000, but can file a surety bond in that amount instead if they don't have the net worth on paper. Class C has no financial requirement at all.
What's the difference between Class A, B, and C for a Virginia roofing license?
The class sets your project size limit, not your trade. Class C covers single jobs under $30,000 and up to $250,000 of work a year with no financial requirement. Class B covers jobs under $150,000 and up to $1 million a year, requiring $15,000 in net worth. Class A has no project limit but requires $45,000 in net worth and an extra business exam.
Official sources
dpor.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/boards/Contractors/A501-27LIC.pdf
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section40
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section50
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section60
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section100
law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency50/chapter22/section140
workcomp.virginia.gov/contractor-information