Nevada General Contractor License Requirements
Official classification: B General Building Contractor (A General Engineering also available) · Issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB).
🏗️ General ContractorNV ✔ Verified 2026-06-19
In Nevada, general contractors must hold the B General Building Contractor (A General Engineering also available), issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), and a surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed general contractor in Nevada
Follow these steps to earn your B General Building Contractor (A General Engineering also available). Every figure is verified against the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
- Pass the Class B (or Class A) trade/management exam and Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Nevada requires Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. Residential improvement contractors who take more than a $1,000 down payment must post an additional $100,000 consumer-protection bond. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
- Clear the background check. Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
- Meet the credit / financial requirement. A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit (the maximum single-contract value the contractor may undertake). Documentation rigor scales with the limit under NRS 624.260-624.265. A Bank Verification Form is also required.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) — $300 (non-refundable) application fee, plus a $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) license fee. Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses).
For the general path in every state, see the General Contractor guide →
Nevada general contractor license lookup
To confirm a general contractor is properly licensed in Nevada — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- B General Building — General building contractor classification (subclasses B-1 through B-7, including B-2 Residential and Small Commercial), for structures requiring in part more than two unrelated building trades.
- A General Engineering — General engineering contractor classification (subclasses A-1 through A-25, e.g. A-7 Excavating and Grading) for fixed-works engineering projects.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable) |
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Bond required | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. Residential improvement contractors who take more than a $1,000 down payment must post an additional $100,000 consumer-protection bond. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Liability insurance | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Property damage | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Workers' comp | Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted |
| Background check | Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application. |
| Credit requirement | A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit (the maximum single-contract value the contractor may undertake). Documentation rigor scales with the limit under NRS 624.260-624.265. A Bank Verification Form is also required. |
| Reciprocity | Alabama; Arizona; California; Florida; Hawaii; Louisiana; New Mexico; North Carolina; South Carolina; Tennessee; West Virginia · compare all states |
| Processing time | Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies. |
What a Nevada general contractor license costs
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). |
| Class B (or Class A) trade/management exam | Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI). |
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Approximately $95 (paid to PSI). |
| Surety bond | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. Residential improvement contractors who take more than a $1,000 down payment must post an additional $100,000 consumer-protection bond. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit). |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). |
Exams
| Class B (or Class A) trade/management exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI) |
|---|---|
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95 (paid to PSI) |
Renewing a Nevada general contractor license
The B General Building Contractor (A General Engineering also available) renews on a fixed cycle set by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Where to renew | Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) |
Local / municipal notes
Choose B (General Building) for buildings/structures or A (General Engineering) for fixed-works/engineering projects. California reciprocity explicitly lists General Building (B).
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Nevada general contractor license cost?
Application: $300 (non-refundable). License: $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). Renewal: $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit).
How do I look up a general contractor license in Nevada?
Search the official license database at app.nvcontractorsboard.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do general contractors in Nevada need a surety bond?
Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. Residential improvement contractors who take more than a $1,000 down payment must post an additional $100,000 consumer-protection bond. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
What experience is required for a Nevada general contractor license?
At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
Is insurance required for general contractors in Nevada?
Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
How long does it take to get a Nevada general contractor license?
Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
Is a background check required for general contractors in Nevada?
Background check: Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Nevada general contractor license?
Credit requirement: A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit (the maximum single-contract value the contractor may undertake). Documentation rigor scales with the limit under NRS 624.260-624.265. A Bank Verification Form is also required.
How often must a Nevada general contractor license be renewed?
Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). Continuing education: None required by NSCB.
Official sources
leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-requirements
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/bonds
nvcontractorsboard.com/resources/faq-central
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-classifications
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/licensure-by-endorsement