Nevada Roofer License Requirements
Official classification: C-15a Roofing Contractor · Issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB).
🏠 RooferNV ✔ Verified 2026-06-19
In Nevada, roofers must hold the C-15a Roofing Contractor, issued by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB), and a surety bond is required. Full requirements — experience, exams, fees, insurance, renewal and reciprocity — are detailed below.
How to become a licensed roofer in Nevada
Follow these steps to earn your C-15a Roofing Contractor. Every figure is verified against the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB); full detail for each step is further down the page.
- Build the required experience. At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
- Pass the C-15 / C-15a Roofing trade exam and Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam exams. Providers, passing scores and fees are in the Exams section below.
- Secure your surety bond. Nevada requires Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
- Check the insurance rules. Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
- Clear the background check. Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
- Meet the credit / financial requirement. A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required.
- Submit your application and fees. Apply through the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) — $300 (non-refundable) application fee, plus a $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) license fee. Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
- Keep the license active. Renewal: Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses).
Nevada roofer license lookup
To confirm a roofer is properly licensed in Nevada — or to check the status of your own license — search the issuing agency's official license database. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
License types
- C-15a Roofing — Specialty (Class C) subclassification covering installation, application, alteration and repair of watertight and weatherproof roofing materials (asphalt, pitch, tar, felt, shakes, shingles, aluminum, tile, slate, urethane, photovoltaic roof tiles), but not siding or internal weather-control stripping.
Requirements at a glance
| Experience required | At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education. |
|---|---|
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable) |
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470) |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Bond required | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Liability insurance | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Property damage | Not mandated by NSCB for licensure |
| Workers' comp | Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted |
| Background check | Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application. |
| Credit requirement | A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required. |
| Reciprocity | Louisiana (7-52 Roofing and Sheet Metal, Siding; the only endorsement chart with a C-15 equivalent) · compare all states |
| Processing time | Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies. |
What a Nevada roofer license costs
| Application fee | $300 (non-refundable). |
|---|---|
| License fee | $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). |
| C-15 / C-15a Roofing trade exam | Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI). |
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Approximately $95 (paid to PSI). |
| Surety bond | Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits. |
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit). |
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). |
Exams
| C-15 / C-15a Roofing trade exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95, or $140 when scheduled with the law exam (paid to PSI) |
|---|---|
| Business & Law / Construction Management Survey (CMS) exam | Provider: PSI · Passing: Not publicly disclosed by NSCB · Fee: Approximately $95 (paid to PSI) |
Renewing a Nevada roofer license
The C-15a Roofing Contractor renews on a fixed cycle set by the Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB). Late and lapsed renewals are handled differently by every board, so check the renewal page linked below before the deadline passes.
| Renewal period | Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses) |
|---|---|
| Renewal fee | $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit) |
| Continuing education | None required by NSCB |
| Where to renew | Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) |
Local / municipal notes
C-15a is the specific roofing subclassification; the broader C-15 category also includes siding-related subclasses. Confirm the exact subclass for your scope of work.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a Nevada roofer license cost?
Application: $300 (non-refundable). License: $600 (two-year license). Residential contractors also pay a Recovery Fund assessment of up to $200, $500 or $1,000 per two-year cycle, depending on the license's monetary limit (NRS 624.470). Renewal: $600 every 2 years, plus the Recovery Fund assessment for residential contractors ($200 / $500 / $1,000 per two-year cycle by monetary limit).
How do I look up a roofer license in Nevada?
Search the official license database at app.nvcontractorsboard.com. The record shows whether the license is active and in good standing.
Do roofers in Nevada need a surety bond?
Surety bond required, set case-by-case from $1,000 to $500,000 based on the license type, the monetary limit requested, and the applicant's financial responsibility, experience and character. A cashier's check may be deposited in lieu of a bond, with a $200 biennial administrative fee for cash deposits.
What experience is required for a Nevada roofer license?
At least 4 full years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, or contractor in the classification, within the 15 years immediately before filing the application. Up to 3 years may be substituted with accredited training or education.
Is insurance required for roofers in Nevada?
Liability: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Property damage: Not mandated by NSCB for licensure. Workers' compensation: Required if you have employees (NRS 624.256); proof of industrial insurance, or an affidavit of exemption, must be submitted before an original or renewal license is granted.
How long does it take to get a Nevada roofer license?
Processing time: Application is processed after a waiting period (1 business day if delivered in person, 5 business days if mailed); total review time varies.
Is a background check required for roofers in Nevada?
Background check: Required; applicants submit a Background Disclosure Statement and Fingerprint Authorization (fingerprinting) as part of the application.
Is there a credit or financial requirement for a Nevada roofer license?
Credit requirement: A financial statement is required regardless of the monetary limit requested and sets the license's monetary limit. Documentation rigor scales with the limit (self/CPA-compiled up to $25,000; reviewed or audited CPA statement for higher limits). A Bank Verification Form is also required.
How often must a Nevada roofer license be renewed?
Every 2 years (Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses). Continuing education: None required by NSCB.
Official sources
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/licensure-by-endorsement
leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-624.html
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-requirements
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/bonds
nvcontractorsboard.com/resources/faq-central
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/license-classifications
nvcontractorsboard.com/licensing/raise-your-license-limit